Tips for visiting the Big Buddha. Hong Kong

Hi everyone,

if you follow my blog you know I swapped my flight from Madrid to Hong Kong and I coudn’t do better. I love Hong Kong. It’s definitelly coming on my list of my favorite cities. The flight was great. I was worried because I had duty free position for the first time that means during the flight you sell duty free. It’s not really popular around crew. I guess it depends on which flight. This one was kind of quite so I had time to do it and I was lucky to sell something and it’s actually not that hard. I like the fact that I can always learn something new. 

We arrived to the hotel in the evening and it’s 4hours diffrents from Dubai. I ordered room service and then went to sleep.

The next day I woke up early because I and other 3 people met in the lobby at 9am and we were heading to see the Big Buddha. I heard it’s better to go early because in the afternoon it gets really packed and it is true so If you would like to visit it definitely plan that for the morning. When we were coming down and we saw the line around 2pm that was crazy. I would say the people could wait even for 3 hours in the lane.

We took a metro from our hotel. It took us less than one hour. I found out that the metro in Asia is really easy to ride. I like it. I prefer to take a metro or something like that because than you feel more like real people who live there and not like typical tourist. Then we took a cabel car. You can choose between crystal cabel, equipped with a glass bottom or standard, which we picked or even privat cabel car. Standard cabel car costs 185 HKD for a round trip. The cabel car took about 20 minutes and it’s such a beautiful view from there.

img_8901 img_8907img_9004img_8999

When we arrived we past a small village with souvenir shops and restaurants.

img_8919

Then we finally saw the Big Buddha. We climbed the 268 stairs and took pictures on the way.

img_8939 img_8942img_8951

The view on the top was breathtaking so we were chilling for a little while and I coudn’t stop staring at the scenery from the top.

img_8959img_8956img_8954img_8958

The Big Buddha is sitting 34 metres high and facing north to look over the Chinese people. The eyes, lips, incline of the head and right hand, which is raised to deliver a blessing to all, combine to bring a humbling depth of character and dignity to the massive Buddha, which took 12 years to complete.

img_8978

When we walked back we saw a new friend.

img_8985

Then we took the cabel car back and then a metro again.

img_8987 img_9006

We had some Taiwanese food for really late lauch.

img_9008

We were thinking of doing something different if we still had a little time but I wanted to sleep a little bit before the flight back to Dubai. We were exhausted so we went back to hotel and I managed to sleep for two hours. I had such a beautiful view from my room, need to share. 

img_9011

img_9015

The way back was easy. It was night flight so most of the passengers were sleeping so we could enjoy couple of tea and nice chat with other crew. 

Next stop will be Singapore so stay tuned 🙂

Feel free to follow me on my social media for daily updates. Instagram, twitter, facebook.

Your Tereza

 

Leave a Reply

